Navratri – The 9 Avataars of a Devi in our everyday Lives


*The 9 Avataars of a Devi in our everyday Lives….*

A man’s view of Navratri!


1. Morning rush hour, office work… *Ashtabhuja.*
2. Teaching her children…. *Saraswati.*
3. Saves money from her household expenses… *Mahalaxmi.*
4. Puts food on a plate for her family…. *Annapurna.*
5. Stands firmly with her family in the hour of need…. *Parvati.*


6. Hubby puts a used wet towel on the bed… *Durga.*πŸ˜‚
7. Hubby doesn’t want to discuss Holiday Plans… *Kali.*Β πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
8. Hubby Doesn’t appreciate her Saree… *Mahishasurmardhini*.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
9. Hubby praises another woman… *Bhavani.*πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

😊Happy Navaratri 😊

In the Goddess Purana, Durga tells the Himalayas to meditate on Brahm. In the Gita Ji, Brahma says, go to the shelter of the complete Brahman, I too am in his refuge.

Day 1 is celebrated as the day of shailaputri, the daughter of the mountains. She is depicted as the one riding the bull with a trishula in the right hand and a lotus flower in the left.
But, she is collective avatar of the lord Brahma, Vishnu and Maheshwar!
Orange is the colour of energy and happiness. Thus the first day of navratri is the colour orange.

Day 2 of navratri.

It’s the day of worshiping brahmacharini, Goddess Parvati was born at Daksha Prajapati’s home. Brahmacharini Goddess is her unmarried form and she is also known as the woman who had to go through hardest form of penance to finally get Lord Shiva as her husband, because of which she is named as Brahmacharini and the colour of the day is white.

Navratri day 3:
Goddess Chandraghanta mounts on a tigress and wears the half moon on her forehead. Since the half-moon on her forehead looks like the bell and because of that she called as Chandra-Ghanta.
This is the married avatar of goddess Parvati and she starts wearing the Chandra bindi.
Though this a peaceful form of the goddess and believed to give you the strength to fight all your fears. However, it is believed that the sound of the moon-bell on her forehead expel all type of spirits away from her devotees.

Navratri Day 4:

After taking form of Siddhidatri, Goddess Parvati starts residing inside the sun and liberates energy to the universe. Since then Goddess called Kushmanda. Ku means “a little”, Ushma means “warmth” or “energy” and Anda means “cosmic egg“.
She has the power and capability to live inside the sun and has the glow and radiance of her body as luminous as that of the sun. It is believed that Goddess Kushmanda provides direction and energy to the sun and is popularly known as Ashtabhuja Devi.

Day 5 of Navratri!

It is the day of worshipping Skandamata (mother of Kartikeya). The fifth day of navratri is special for the mothers and soon to be mothers. It is dedicated to those beautiful people out there, who are trying to conceive but are left feeling low with that striking single red line.

Day 6 of Navratri:
Goddess katyayni was created with the combined energies of all the Gods in order to end Mahishasura.

The 7th day of Navaratri dedicated to Maa Kalratri, the 7th Avtar of Maa Durga. But, here, Kaal means time and death and Kaalratri means the One who is the Death of Kaal. Maa Kalratri destroys ignorance and brings light into the dark. Well, this form also depicts the dark side – the super power that creates havoc and removes all things bad and dirty. But to Her devotees, She brings calmness and courage.

Day 8 of Navratri: (Yesterday)
The eighth day called Ashtami or Durga Ashtami. Maa Durga’s eighth avatar, who worshipped today, Maa Mahagauri. Hence, she is depicted as sitting on a cow and is the most calm of all of Maa Durga’s avatars.
She represents intelligence, peace, prosperity and calm.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Please rate this

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment